top of page

Scanning my Ocarina

We started to scan our figurine whistles, also referred to as ocarinas, the other day in class. Dr. McKillop gave each of the students a different ocarina, and each of them was specifically chosen for the student it was given to to test that students skills in 3D imaging. I was given two different ocarinas. both of them look like a head of what I think is a warrior or a god, but one of them was an actual artifact and the other was a 3D copy of another artifact that is super similar to the real one that I was given. Scanning these two artifacts has been pretty difficult, in fact I feel like I am pretty far behind on this project. It took me two or three days to get a good scan of the 3D print because I could NOT find a good position to put it in for the longest time. I finally figured out what the problem was after a lot of trial and error. The problem was that even though the scan was a brown color it was a very light brown that also had a little bit of yellow in it, so when I would scan it using the neutral color setting it would come out super patchy and had a ton of holes on flat surfaces where it definitely should have scanned fine. Well, when I changed it to the light color setting it scanned SO MUCH better. The scans started to come out more complete, but I was still having a hard time trying to find a good position to get a good scan of the face because the eyes are two carved out lines on the face, so when the machine scans the face there are big gaps under the eyes right where the carving starts. I've tried al kinds of different positions like looking straight at the machine, on its back, at angles, and even face down held up by two pillars of clay, but there is still a gap under the eyes. At this point in the process I am still working on the 3D print of the ocarina and trying to get the get the eyes. I have managed to get a decent scan of the whole thing minus the eyes, which way seem like a spot I could leave gapped, but I am trying to get the absolute best scan that I can for this project. I have yet to start on my second ocarina, but i am pretty confident that it will not take nearly as long as this one has because they are so similar to one another that i will be able to use the same techniques that I have used on this one after i get these dang eyes. The only thing that is super different between the two ocarinas is the true artifact has more detail in its carvings but those details are more in the headdress, so I am confident that the machine will easily be able to pick that up when it scans. More updates to come.

bottom of page